Dating Digressions…

I might go on a date tonight, so of course I am super insecure.

Image

Me, secure. I can stand on the side of a rock face that I feel relatively stable on, even if I’d need my rope etc. to descend. Dating? Umm…

I don’t know if I will or not. I “met” the guy online a few days ago and he seems nice, and asked if I’d like to grab an adult beverage of sorts sometime. I of course froze up, panicked, and didn’t respond to him until this morning when I awoke from unexpectedly crashing out last night with all of my lights on. I. Hate. That.

So I finally pulled together the wherewithal and sucked myself out of drool central enough to respond, basically, with “hey, if you’re free tonight meet me at work at 5 and we’ll go from there”. Because I work at a bike shop with a bunch of badass dudes, and I am paranoid enough to become mildly concerned whenever anyone wants to meet me IRL.

Image

Presenting the shop with the badass dudes (and chicks too!!). We have the coolest logo ever.

Because, you know, that’s what Internet dating sites are supposed to be for. I don’t know if they actually work, but my colleague at the OTHER company at which I work (clarification to come via future posts) met her husband online, and they have been together 13 years and have a beautiful 5 year old daughter.

But I digress. Watching too many “true crime” shows has gotten me to the point where I will never. Trust. Anyone. Again. Or at least close to that. I wear my heart too much on my sleeve, so I try to put in fail-safes where I know I will fail, unsafely.

Like having guys I may go on a date with meet me at my shop. Where the badass dudes work. The number one badass is 6’1″ and built like a tank. A really smiley, very kind tank, but I wouldn’t want to get into a fight with him.

Image

Plenty of badass chicks work here too. Like this one. Yeah, Sarah!

Mind you, this is all going on in my head, where it all still lives. The guy with whom I may or may not meet for a postwork coffee hasn’t yet responded. Considering I wrote him at 4 in the morning that’s probably a good thing.

So these are my musings far too early on Monday morning. Well, Internet, I guess you’ll find out how -or if!- it went tomorrow!

Image

Shifting through gears to check a bike I’m working on with my shop manager at my favorite place in Fort Collins, the Bike Co-op. This was August/September 2013 (hence the skirt and sandals…I was feeling pretty that day, apparently).

I'm a writer living in Northern Colorado. I also help run the front of the house for the Fort Collins Bike Co-op. I have two cool roommates and a snorey cat. I love my life.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Blog
3 comments on “Dating Digressions…
  1. Miss Andi says:

    Hiya, found your site via the #atozchallenge, loved this post, did you actually meet the guy after all? Hope he didn’t get scared πŸ™‚
    Andrea, #atozchallenge Mighty Minion Asset

    • Hey Miss Andi!! I did meet him and he was very nice but no sparks. Darn. You’re a rockstar; thanks for the comment!! Find me on facebook: facebook.com/dondi. Swear I am not a bot or anything; yesterday in Colorado we started out chilly and ended gorgeous. Still waiting to see what today will bring. πŸ™‚

  2. Marci says:

    Ahhh – so, how’d it go? Probably kind of weird having a stranger (me) asking you about how your internet date might/might not have gone, right? Well, I just had to say hi – I was browsing around through some of the blogs signed up for the A to Z Challenge (I’m number 688, Fuzzy Undertones) when your blog caught my eye. I went to Colorado State from 1998 – 2004 where I got my MS and Ph.D., and I loved living in Fort Collins. What a great town to own a bike in! I’m living in the Portland, OR, area now, making an earning as a fish biologist with the feds. Interesting side note – I met my husband on Match when I moved out here, so the internet dating scene CAN have happy endings! Anyway, just wanted to say hi and encourage you to keep on being a badass. We need more like you! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

